I Forge Iron

Hello from Delaware

CMS3900

Hey I Forge Iron. I am Morgan from Townsend, Delaware and I am a Machinist/Blacksmith. 

I got back into blacksmithing about  a year and a half ago. I am 32, and I had previously done some blacksmithy in high school.

I am interested in anything I can learn, but mainly bladesmithing, Flintlock gunsmithing, silversmithing, armor making, casting and bloomery, tool making, power hammers , and solid technique.

I purchased a 150lb Bradley and a 100lb Little Giant last year, and am in the process of restoring both of them.

I am a member of the Blacksmith's Guild of Central Maryland, ABANA, and hopefully the Mid-Atlantic Smiths Association soon.

Welcome aboard Morgan, glad to have you. Those are a couple work horse power hammers you got there. You're going to need to develop your skills sets to a level of proficiency before you'll be getting much serious use from them. Oh sure you'll be using them but nowhere near their potential for a while. What other kit is in your scope?

Frosty The Lucky.

Hey Frosty, Thanks for the reply.

It will take some time to learn how to use them to their potential for sure. I also plan on putting them on VFD's and slowing them down a bit until my proficiency increases.

As far as equipment I have scrounged together for blacksmithing I made a vertical and horizontal propane forge last year which I am considering changing and putting ribbon burners in, I have a Fisher anvil (150#ish?), a 400 lb anvil that is broke at the heel that I am told is a hay budden and I plan on fixing, a caulking vise that's missing the foot lever, and a unknown make post vise. I also made a whitlock-esq coal forge and have yet to hook my buffalo forge crank blower to it. Next equipment goals are a press and a ironworker.