I Forge Iron

machete from pressure vessel steel

Making a machete with a unique design. The guy at the welding shop turned me on to some stuff he said they make pressure vessels out of. being as that i am kind of new at the knifemaking game and can't find a reasonably priced knifemaking steel plates

It tempered out pretty well it is seriously springy and tough. I am a pretty big guy but cannot bend it more than a half an inch "handle, blade will not bend at all" without it snapping back into place. like i said tough  XXXXXX  but can't seem to get a really good edge on it. Then again i was never one to really pull a scary edge on a knife. i mean it can cut paper with no problem but i can't get it shaving sharp plus the edge can only achieve a grainy sharpness nothing more. Can anyone tell me where i am going wrong??  or where i can buy reasonably priced knifemaking steel plate without ordering something from china which i don't want do. preferably 12x24 inch to make these out of??

If anyone here would like. i can repeat the process in a small blade and send to them to test. if interested. really would appreciate some input

Pressure vessels are not known for using high carbon steels, sorry but nothing can get it a good edge.  Stating it tempered well is just about meaningless. To temper: a metal just sets in an oven a while.  Tempering does nothings unless you harden it first, and some steels do not harden.   What steel to use, and what to look for in steel, as well as why is explained in the knife making classes as well as supplier list for buying steel.