I Forge Iron

soup can forge help

roadkill595

Hi guys,

I recently decided to try my hand at blacksmithing and knife making. I made a small soup can forge but it isn't performing like it should. I have a suspicion my issue is that I'm not getting enough airflow but am unsure what the best way to fix it is. Please check out the video I posted and let me know what you think. 

Thanks. 

My first little soup can forge was made just using kaowool for insulation. I also got better heat and performance when I pulled the torch back to where the end of it was just a tad outside the can and blowing into it.

Now, saying that... I am just a beginner myself and suggest paying close attention to what the highly skilled and experienced curmudgeons...ummm, smiths like Mr. Thomas Powers, Frosty, or several others.

The insulation is a half sand half plaster of paris mix. I'm really just trying to get a good even heat that will get say 4 inches of material red hot. right now I'm just getting the tip of what i'm working with going. I'll try backing it out and see if that helps. 

Welcome aboard Roadkill, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

Pull the torch tip out of the chamber, you want just the tip in the refractory blanket. Angle it so the flame is tangential to the chamber so it produces a vortex and evens the temperature.

NO, no more air! It's running nice and neutral now, more air will cool it and make an oxidizing atmosphere, neither good things.

Okay you just posted your reply to Thomas. That is a completely unsatisfactory refractory. Heck, it isn't really refractory at all and it's a major heat sink just absorbing most of the torch's output.