I Forge Iron

Beginner interested in smithing, where to go?

Hello everyone, I'm new to blacksmithing and would love to start somewhere. I'm in Anchorage and I have no equipment, but I'm interested in learning some skills. I'd be willing to pay for fuel or anything needed to start. I just have no clue where to go! Are there any meet ups planned for the future where I can come meet some new people? Thanks in advance for any help.

Well I think the next Alaska Blacksmith Association meeting is scheduled for July. I was at the same point you were just a few months ago and the best thing that ever happened to my Forging dreams was to go to this last month's meeting. Just being able to hang out with people who have been doing this for years, and being helped in the process of making some stuff was a HUGE help. Anyone can come to the meetings, you just have to be a paying member to vote when they get into club business. 

There is a more beginner class that is coming up earlier though in Palmer. On Saturday, May 23rd they are doing a Tong workshop for $50. It should be a very basic beginner course and you will be able to leave with a pair of tongs which you made yourself, as well as meet and talk with some of the best blacksmiths here in the Anchorage/Valley area. 

Frosty is kinda the local guru though. He would say hi but he has had some issues with his account on the forum. I'm sure he'll have some sage advice once he gets that resolved though. 

Edited by AkNewbie

I am planning to do the tong class so that it will have 2-3 sub classes at the same time so it should be good for different skill levels. A true beginner class. A class for those who have made tongs before and want to work on say bolt tongs or offset V jaw tongs. and a class for those who have made tongs and have a powerhammer in their shop. Just to clarify this is not just a beginner thing. Mark