I Forge Iron

New forging press

whodoamb

It looks good and cool, BUT, it looks a bit er .... flimsy ???? Now I'm no expert wrt. Hydraulics but I've built and own a large number of different hydraulic powered machines. That piston looks like it could 'push like a herd of Randy buffalo bulls' and all that potential power is 'held together by 4 dinky bolts and 2 micro flanges at the base'?

Whodoamb, I mean no disrespect here and you may be(possibly are) a hydraulic(and structural engineering)  guru, so if I'm wrong please enlighten me(learning is good) , I have always been a firm follower of the 'rather way over than way under engineered school of thought '

I thought the same thing about the flanges on the cylinder,but it has a column load rating of 58,900 lb. The little tab's are 2 inch by 3/8 1045 per spec's for cylinder. Bolts for guide plates are 3/8 grade 8. Bottom mounting and top slide mount are 1 1/2 thick. Uprights are 2 by 3 by 1/4 doubled to make a 4 by 3, Bottom mount 6 by 1/2 plate sandwiched between 2 - 6 by 4 by 1/2 angle 13 - 3/4 inch plug welds per angle. 

No there is 1/4 inch space between cylinder and mount. You have to realize that the pin is hardened so it ether has to break the pin or stretch the hole. Nether has happened yet thought I have only gotten to use it once, see photo 3/4 inch straightened coil spring.                                         

100_148.JPG

• 1 month later...

Looks good, can't really see from the pics, but if your using the factory cylinder mounts, with the rite pin you shouldn't have a problem.  There have been some pins sheared that shoot out like bullets though, that's why mine has a deflector plate in front of the cylinder mounts, but then mine more of the clayborn style and the pin is at eye level.