I Forge Iron

Steak turner with split end

Hello! I'm new here. I've been getting into knife making the last couple of years, and am just finishing up my first forge. I was playing around with it today and ended up forging my first project, a meat turning hook...

0212151742_zpsijowgded.jpg

I am very happy with how it turned out considering it's my first attempt at doing the stuff I've been watching on youtube, but I noticed the end of the hook split. I was just doing this project for practice and to try out stuff. So I wasn't too concerned about keeping the tip from overheating, and I did cook it quite a bit while heating the middle section. On the other hand, I did dip the tip in water a couple times to try to keep it from overheating. So, I'm wondering if the split is from overheating, or a crack from quenching it, or something else?

0212151931_zpsq75tm2hx.jpg

Welcome aboard Jesse, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the IFI gang live within visiting distance.

What Neil said. It's called "bird's Mouthing" or . . . (never mind this is a family site <wink>) Cut it off and reforge the tip it'll be fine. Hot file or grind the finish point before turning it at a low red and you don't have to worry about any splitting.

Also, forge the thicker sections first. If you start with the thin sections they're a lot more likely to get burned when heating the thicker ones.

Other than the tip bird's mouthing a little bit that's a nice steak turner. Well done.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks guys. So if I understand, do a short taper, then draw it out, then file it sharp, then bend it around into the hook shape. Is that about right?

Why turn it at a low red instead of at a hotter temp? Is it more evenly heated through the whole bar since the outside cools faster?