I Forge Iron

1095 & 15N20 Hunter w/1084 core

rhitee93

I made this knife as a gift for a coach who has made a big difference in my daughter's life.

The blade was going to be just 1095 and 15N20, but I ended up with a big flux inclusion when drawing out after the second round of welding.  By the time I cut out the bad part, I was short on material.  I drew what was left out to about 8”, cut it in half, and welded the pieces on either side of a piece of 1084 - san mai style.  I was pretty diligent about keeping the hammer blows even on each side after this step, but the result is still a bit off center.  The blade was quenched at 1500F in 140Fmcanola and then tempered at 400F for 2 hours.

The guard is nickel silver, the handle is a piece of ash burl, and the pin is 316 stainless.

This is my 3rd knife attempt, and the first time I have tried a knife with a proper ricasso and guard.  I’m really new at this, so feel free to throw out some constructive criticism.

I’m starting work on a sheath now.  I’ve never done leather work before, so this should be an interesting experience.

Thanks for looking!

IMG_3225_zps751572a7.jpg

IMG_3227_zpsc961e130.jpg

IMG_3226_zps74be9785.jpg

IMG_3232_zps2aaa0bc7.jpg

IMG_3233_zps937f3d66.jpg

Great answer rhitee. Enough said. Btw, that's a terrific knife.

Flux is a contaminant, ie, possible inclusions. If you have a controlled forge, there is no need for flux when welding flat bars. Welding cable is a different monster. You can get a clean and better weld with out flux, and it's a simple process. Research fluxless damascus welding. If you are having problems after having tried it, just post a request.
John

Great answer rhitee. Enough said. Btw, that's a terrific knife.