I Forge Iron

Anvil help for the new guy

The opportunity to purchase this anvil has arose. I believe it to be a Sloan, in the #100-110 range. I'm just getting into the art and don't have an anvil yet. Without ringing it and check for cracks and rebound I need a little guidance. Thanks in advance for the help.

post-57167-0-31659600-1411697842_thumb.j

post-57167-0-19312600-1411697858_thumb.j

Dave-

Its a poor example of a Vulcan anvil. It is missing part of it's top plate which was pretty thin to begin with. If you do a little research you can find how most smiths feel about Vulcan anvils. They are better than nothing and some larger ones work well but the one you are looking at isn't much better than a cast iron ASO. You'd be better off finding a piece of railroad track or a block of steel from the scrap yard work one.

Value depends on what they are asking as well. Is it a $25 anvil? Sure. Is it a $300 anvil? No, not with the obvious issues visible from here. In the middle it gets more difficult. Some areas are loaded with anvils, others are not. It's obviously damaged, but how is that damage effecting it'd performance and rebound? No way to tell that by just pictures.

Take a minute and add your location to your profile so we know where you are at. You might find someone local who can point you in the right direction or recommend a local group you can join. Many groups have a tailgating area at local meetings and you might find an anvil there for example.

sorry for my bluntness. walk away.

A chunk of RR rail would be far better. or a flat anything. I have replaced the top plate on 3 anvils and it is a lot of work but not on a Vulcan. Honestly that is not and anvil, but it would work to hold a door open or block for you trailer tires.