I Forge Iron

Architectural Iron: historical

I'm currently a corrections officer at Attica prison in western NY. I have questions about some of the architectural ironwork that is original to the facility and who might be responsible for them.

(I'll try to get some photos when available, but without SUPER SPECIAL permission from the ivory palace, a camera is verboten.)

Construction for the facility was completed in 1931. Obviously in 83 years, many things have changed. However, there are certain LARGE gates, railings, etc. that are original to the 1930's. There are many of these around the facility in various areas, including the area where I work. It would be easy to disregard these pieces as "local" smithing... But I suspect a larger shop was involved (along the lines of Samuel Yellin's in Philly).

Does anyone have any idea where I might begin to research it? There is an Attica Prison Museum in the works and if a significant shop were involved, I'd consider it an important addition. I'll try to get photos. If nothing else, I can probably sketch what I see daily.

Bill

Look in old newspapers for information on the building of it too.  I have an old book on prisons I got for the pictures of the blacksmith shops in some of them.  Don't know if it would help and it will be several weeks before I get back to my research library---which seems to be gradually migrating down here question by question...

Here's a small example of that I'm talking about. Wrought iron decorative screws/nails that adorn heavy wooden exterior doors. You just don't put this kind of effort into a prison these days. Guess I'm going to have to contact Albany for permission to research it. There's so much more. Will share when I'm able.

post-3470-0-40511300-1398876201_thumb.jp

• 7 months later...