I Forge Iron

new man & shop

I am new to blacksmithing but have been working with machinery as a diesel generator mechanic since '79. I love machinery and believe a well built machine is its own reward. I first learned to fly in '80 and finally got my private pilot's licence in'04. In between those years I leared about design and construction of aiplanes mostly through rresearch in my spare time. I started my own business in '06 and have bee working to make it successful. Now I am setting up my shop to build a flying boat amphibian from scratch. This is what brought me to forging...

I am attempting to design and build a 4place version of a Coot Amphibian. The aiplane is consructed of wood, fiberglass, and steel. The Coot is a 2 place airplane with a gross weight of 1900 lbs. The Long Coot will be 50% heavier at about 3000 lbs. This means the steel wing attachment straps and landing gear components must be built and tested for the incresed weight. That means I need to be able to fabricate, forge, heat treat and temper these components in my own shop. There are many parts that lend themseves to multiple fabrication. Some of these could be drop forged on a hammer into a female mold. So I am trying to set up my shop for both wood work and hot work. I have a shop layout drawing, but I don't know how to post it. My shop is 27x30 with a seperate dropped area 9x13 at one end. That will be the hot shop.

The first piece of major equipment i purchased is a blu max 110. I seriously considered a KA75 but felt the blu max was more versatile in the long run.
I have learned a lot in the last year and I still have a lot more to learn. I found your site last week and love it. Thanks for reading. Pete

Couple questions, excuse my ignorance. 

Why does the plane get 50% heavier with the addition of two seats and a little more length? 

Why do you have to do all the work (especially the heat treating) in your own shop?