I Forge Iron

looking for info on this strange vice

dontpaymenomind

Interesting vice, haven't seen one quite like that, it appears, the scissors hinge is made so that the jaws move parralell instead of simply hinging and having the front jaw angle in relation to the back jaw when opened very wide.  The other very short vices Ive seen were made to mount on the wagon or cart of a portable forge rig, not sure but it could have been made for that.

Woodsmith

I'll try to get better pictures later today. I'm not a very mechanical person so describing it will be rough but here's an attempt.

The vise screw is actually the end of that bar that slides out(but not right now) to open the jaws and the handle is internally threaded. This is opposite of the post vises I've seen. The externally threaded rod also has a latch and notches to I guess open the jaws to different lengths and keep it there.

I can't getit to open more than an an inch or so right now.

Thanks

post-51616-0-27556000-1396043725_thumb.jpost-51616-0-42069000-1396046021_thumb.jpost-51616-0-23050200-1396046062_thumb.jpost-51616-0-86834400-1396046106_thumb.jpost-51616-0-40588300-1396046194_thumb.jpost-51616-0-99199400-1396046260_thumb.j

The handle looks like it has some threads broken off and that ring kinda acts as a spring/keeps it for on falling off after I get it open about an inch. Seems like a fix for the broken handle threads. It won't pull the jaws open unless its connected.

I can't pull it open any further either but it may just be the rust. Or I'm just not understanding the vise

OK, here is my thoughts. The ratchet nothches are for rapid action, then the screw would do the final squeezing. It looks like there is a spring in the back that when pushed down would allow the screw assembly to slide open without turning the handle. When an item is placed in the jaws one could just simply push the outer jaw closed against the item, then use the handle to do the final tightening. Interesting design.