I Forge Iron

Rust blooms on carbon steel kitchen knife

Swords9023

Good morming all,

I have just recently made a sushi knife  for my friend for some practice. It was coal forged from 1084 H. Carbon steel and properly hardened/tempered. I put on a mirror finish but find that upon slicing hot foods, rust blooms instantly appear and give the blade a wacky "tie-dye" look. Is this something that can be avoided with treatment? Or will the blade need to be cleaned between cuts? Im still an apprentice so thanks for any advice.

post-47385-0-98825900-1389114426_thumb.j

Carbon steel is going to form an oxide layer after regular use - the acids in food are going to accelerate the process. You can clean and oil after every use and still see it form. 

That mirror finish is impressive... but oxide on the surface is going to show and soon, especially if used in the kitchen. There are surface treatments, like bluing or DuraCoat, that will drastically reduce rusting... but then will ruin the look. When you give it to your friend inform him/her on proper care, and although it won't be shiny long, it'll give him/her decades of use (generations of use if given TLC).

You giving that puppy a handle?

On my carbon steel kitchen knives, (most of which I got and treasured years before I started any kind of forging), I find it helps to clean, dry and oil immediately after use. That goes double with an acidic food like lemons or tomatoes. No dishwashers, and no leaving 'em in/near the sink.

Another thing that seems to help is don't toss them in a drawer with a bunch of other knives. They rust faster, and get dull faster. Better to get a knife block or magnetic strip.

TheoRockNazz