I Forge Iron

Devil forges?

Gijotoole

Are these any good? I don't have the stuff to make a good one and by the time I pay for supplies and shipping I'll almost have one paid for. I'm thinking their little wide-mouth one. I'm still new at this hobby.

I live in Germany and stuff (everything) is hard to come by.

• 3 weeks later...

Are these any good? I don't have the stuff to make a good one and by the time I pay for supplies and shipping I'll almost have one paid for. I'm thinking their little wide-mouth one. I'm still new at this hobby.

I live in Germany and stuff (everything) is hard to come by.

Free shipping to Germany and this Gas forge DFS series is the best choice for beginners. Good quality for good price! 

DFS has gotten good reviews over the British forums.  If shipping's free, that makes it even better.

My two cents:  while I would be inclined to purchase a burner simply to insure that I got the best that I could, I would hesitate to buy a completed forge.  In general, I can always make a forge body that's better than what is commercially available.  The hard part is sourcing the wool liner and IR reflective coating, but every nation (including Germany) has a product like it, so it can't be that hard to get.  What's the german equivalent of Kaowool?  They have glassblowers and pottery shops all over the nation, so they'll have the materials to make ovens.

They have glassblowers and pottery shops all over the nation, so they'll have the materials to make ovens.