I Forge Iron

Preventing Cold Shuts?

Hey, all,

I want to make an oyster culling hammer (see pic link below) out of a railroad spike.

'>666151098_o.jpg

I plan to use the headed end of the railroad spike for the round "hammer head" of the culling hammer, and the pointed end of the spike for the flat 3/4" wide and edged "lever" end of the hammer.

My question is, when I go to "round off" and draw down the head of the railroad spike, how do I prevent getting cold shuts in it, where the sharp edges of the head of the spike get pounded inward?

Would it help to prevent cold shuts if, before forging, I take an angle grinder and grind off the sharp edges of the railroad spike?

Would it help to dip the hot steel in borax, and get it to welding temperature before drawing it down, so that any cold shuts got "welded" closed?

Are there any other tricks I should think about?

Sorry for the very basic question, but I'm a newbie and haven't found any clues.

Thanks in advance for any help.

I would  grind off any really sharp corners especially the "pointy end" of the head.  Make sure your blows are square on to the higher area.  As long as you don't fold  or mushroom what you are forging in you should be fine.  Lots of heat and heavy blows will prevent you from mushrooming the higher area.  Light blows or working too cold and you could end up mushrooming it and end up with a cold shut. 

Good Morning,

Before you worry about how to deal with the head, you must upset the middle to gain mass for the handle eye!! After you gain the middle mass, you can get rid of all sharp edges with a file or grinder and try to create your wish. The material you have chosen will allow this to be an exercise in sequences before you make your hammer with some good material that will give you long service. You can learn how to heat treat the spike with no fear of it breaking. :):)

Neil