I Forge Iron

Got yelled at over an Anvil today...

I walked into an antique mall today, kinda an old dingy place, more of a junk store than anything really.

Right inside the door is a smaller 'roughly' 125 - 150lb Peter Wright Anvil in half decent condition, wasn't pristine, but it was alright.

It was marked $325 seemed high to me, but Im a newb... but I figure Im also at a junk store.

I offered the clerk $190 (What I had in my wallet) for it and the man loses his mind, starts yelling and cussing at me asking if Im trying to get hm shot or something... a rather high strung individual.

I thanked him for his time and left the store, I don't do well with strangers raising their voice to me without cause.

But it begs the question, was I THAT far off the mark that my offer incited such a response? :P

Around me it would have been a fair price for that sized anvil in decent condition.  My 100 lb acme cost me 100 dollars just as a reference.  Sadly some people have an inflated idea of how much things are really worth and theres no talking them out of it.  You just gotta shrug and walk away.  To bad,  Hopefully another will cross your path soon.   :D  

Using flea market price negotiation in a retail store is a bit crude. if someone has put the time and effort in to running a shop they expect to make at least a margin on their stock, you really need to put the feelers out and see if they are receptive to offers or deals before you hit them between the eyes with a "take it or leave it " offer.

Using flea market price negotiation in a retail store is a bit crude. if someone has put the time and effort in to running a shop they expect to make at least a margin on their stock, you really need to put the feelers out and see if they are receptive to offers or deals before you hit them between the eyes with a "take it or leave it " offer.