I Forge Iron

Tire Hammer - Welding Advice

I've been collecting parts for a tire hammer for a couple months now and I'm just about ready to start the initial assembly. I have a Lincoln AC225 stick welder and I'm not too shabby with it and have a buddy who is also fairly good with a stick welder.

I'm looking for advice on how to proceed. I've bought the plans and I'm following them exactly for sizes, etc but I'm wondering what type of rod to use and what voltage to set the welder to.

Also if anyone has advice for ensuring the large peices are set and stay at 90 degree angles, etc it would be very appreciated.

I haven't looked over the plans, but my guess is chances are most of the welds can be done with just about any rod as long as you can do decent quality welds. Saying that, my 1st recommendation would be the to use the rod you are most comfortable with and can do the best job. I wouldn't recommend using an unfamiliar rod if you can make decent welds with something else.

Having said that my personal 1st choice would be to use a fresh container of  7018AC.  7018 is a medium strength rod with good ductility under shock. It's one of the reasons it's usually the minimum suggested for "code" based welding applications like bridges and so on. However 7018 does have some issues. Many have problem running 7018 if the rods are old or have gotten "damp" from absorbing moisture from the air due to poor storage conditions. Also not all 7018 is created equal. AC stick welders don't always run "standard" 7018 well. 7018Ac is designed to run better on AC based stick machines.