I Forge Iron

Hello from Boise, Idaho

I've made a few posts since I originally created my account, but I wanted to officially introduce myself. My name is Josiah Peters, I mostly go by Joey and I live in Boise, Idaho with my wife, dog and two cats. By trade I'm a software developer and I've always had a great joy for making things.

I was inspired to get into blacksmithing while learning about timber framing by watching a video I saw by

There is a Blacksmith Association in your area. Hook up with them.

There will be "Western States Blacksmith Conference", August 22-26 at Government Camp on Mt. Hood. Check it out on the NorthWest Blacksmith Association website www.blacksmith.org

Neil

Welcome nice looking work

Thanks, but credit goes to my instructor for pushing me so quickly and having well planned out lessons for me to do. He already had jigs for the scrolls so it was just a matter of me bending along the jigs. So its definitely nicer looking than if I had tried to freehand it or using jigs I made myself. I'm truely blessed to be able to learn from someone like him!

There is a Blacksmith Association in your area. Hook up with them.

There will be "Western States Blacksmith Conference", August 22-26 at Government Camp on Mt. Hood. Check it out on the NorthWest Blacksmith Association website www.blacksmith.org

Neil

Neil,

I joined the blacksmith.org forum a while back but I find it harder to keep up with over iforgeiron.com. I'll have to look into officially joining them because I'm definitely enjoying forging and I'm sure I'll be doing it as a hobby for a long time.

I will definitely have to try and fit the conference in my schedule! I remember seeing that on blacksmith.org but I had forgotten when it was thanks for the reminder.

You're one lucky guy Joey, having a smith willing to take you under his wing is a treat many of us would've loved to have. that's a beautiful scroll panel.