I Forge Iron

Anthracite coal-How do I improve my technique?

First time poster here looking for help on fine-tuning my coal usage.  This is all new to me, so I will take any advice or personal experiences that you may have.  I am just starting out with a brake drum forge and heating only 1/4 square stock and rods.  After calling around to several feed and grain suppliers, landscape suppliers and farm stores, I am not able to get bituminous coal right now.  I bought a bag of anthracite "stove coal" to get going.  I had to break up the large pieces that were about 2"-3" in size.  I start my forge with a firestarter, a small handfull of charcoal and then pile anthracite once it is going.  My tuyere is a 2" nipple that I cut down to 1",  coming up from a black iron floor flange set in the drum.  I welded 2 pieces of 1/4" rod across the nipple for a screen to keep the coal and clinkers from falling down the tuyere.  I lined the bottom of the drum with sand/clay mix to almost the top of the nipple.  I recently added a piece of expanded metal over the rods to help keep the smaller pieces from going down. 

I can light the coal no problem, but the core of the heat seems to move around the firepot in different directions.  I understand anthracite is a little more difficult to work with, and does not form a cave.  It seems to slide around easy and need constant piling up over the piece being worked.  When the piece is removed to be hammered and put back in the forge, re-piling is necessary.

Yesterday I took large pieces of coal and made an "igloo" over the smaller pieces to see if it would hold more heat in one area.  It did not really seem to work.