I Forge Iron

Earlier this year after demonstrating at a craft fair I was asked by the local Purdue extension educator If I would judge the 4H Blacksmithing projects at the local county fair. I was surprised by the request and accepted the offer.
This is the first year for the program and so all entries will be at the beginner level.
I am glad to see Blacksmithing being offered at this level. Do any of you have any judging experience or advice on dealing with younger people interested in blacksmithing.
The judging will be tomorrow morning.

John

Just a thought......but maybe look more at the level of their ideas/ imagination/experimentation with the metal as opposed to actual technical quality..........which can be worked on with practice but the other has to come from the heart and exist to begin with...doesn't it?

But i could be wrong........i've no experience of this, it's just my take on it if i were in your shoes!

Good luck and enjoy seeing work from a different perspective! Great to see youngsters are being taught blacksmithing....you'd almost want them all to win!

Reckon you could get some piccies up?

Judging is a most controversial area, here in the UK the National Blacksmiths Competition Committee hold regular seminars on judging for the shows to determine the UK national champions in both live forging competitions and static competitions for individual pieces. These seminars highlight the areas to be taken into consideration. Most who forge, know good ironwork and what it is composed of, and do not need to be advised of this, it is after all a personal judgement based on experience.
Basically be honest in your decision and be prepared to justify your decision, there are certain questions to ask yourself to reach that decision.
Briefly
Does it do the job it is supposed to do? That is is it Fit for purpose,
The number of skills used appropriate in producing the item.
The overall appearance and finish of the item