I Forge Iron

Gas usage rate?

Guest Aengus

Guest Aengus

Noob here. I had a chance to pick up an almost new NC Whisper Daddy Low Boy at a great price. I'm running it off a small 20lb propane tank until I get a shop. I'm running at 6psi, which was the lowest that the (very helpful) NC support staff suggests running it at. Even so, the flames seem to come a few inches out the side ports-which I believe is the normal dragon breath(?).

My first tank only lasted an afternoon. Unfortunately, this was a new exchange tank and I didn't weigh it before I started.

How long should a 20lb tank last? Hours, days?

I have a wisper Mama 2 burner forge and it will go a few hours on a 20 pound. I don't run it constantly though. NC tool can give you the burn rate for each burner. You will need a bigger tank for that forge if you run any more pressure, my Mama will pull fast enough at 12-15 psi to ice the valve on a 20 pound and cut the gas supply off.

I do believe what you are seeing is Dragons Breath from your ports but I'm no expert.

Mark

As Rusty says, NC is your best source for your specific forge, but my experience (and I have an NC) and farriers that I have talked to is that for general work, some heating, some welding.you'll burn about 2 pounds per hour of flame time in a two burner forge. If you used up a tank in an intermittent use afternoon, the tank probably didn't start out full or it froze up or cooled the liquid too far.. My gauge doesn't work anymore, I just go by the sound of the forge so I don't know what pressure I work at most times, likely around 8psi. Here is a long thread that may help. I chime in with some technical data around post 35. I don't claim to be a real blacksmith, more of a farrier, and blacksmithing horseshoes for twenty years is more of a year's experience 20 times than twenty years experience, but I am an expert on fuel gases, etc. Hope this helps.