I Forge Iron

Turkey Fryer Forge?

Farm Hand

I'm new to metalworking, and new to this forum. However, I am familiar with discussion forums and searched this one for a question similar to mine, to preclude redundancy. So my question may be original: Can I make a small forge using the burner from a propane turkey fryer as the heat source? What I have is the burner (mounted on its stand) with its hose/regulator assembly. I've used it to melt wheel weights before, but nothing hotter. I lucked into a good anvil, and have retired to a farm. We stick weld, and cut and bend metal using an oxy/propane torch. I just got the idea to use firebricks and maybe that burner for a temporary forge when needed. I assume that I'd need to put iron pipe between the hose and burner. Has anyone heard of this setup being done?

You're reading my mind. I figured a few dollars for firebrick from the local big-box store, and see what happens. If you do it, please let me know how it turns out. I can't pursue this until I finish a big fabrication (cutting & stick welding) project. If I try it before you do, I'll post the results. Good luck.

• 2 weeks later...

I put a cast iron pipe reducer over a turkey fryer burner, made a litle basket out of expanded metal, and put the lid from a dutch oven on top.  It heated metal hot enough to hammer, but it took a while, and the expanded metal burned out pretty quick.  I've built several propane burners since then, and there is no comparison.  You will waste enough propane to cover the cost of some plumbing parts for a burner pretty quick. If you are setup to weld, I doubt you will find making a burner all that difficult. 

• 2 weeks later...

Biggest problem with most commercial burners not intended for forge work is that they run too oxidizing and do not have the ability to tune them otherwise.