I Forge Iron

First Time Forge Build

Dale M.

Hi all ...

This is my first attempt to build a forge... So I will call it Forge 101

I will start by saying I have just about exhausted YouTube all the videos on forge making and read quite a bit on how forges operate and decided first attempt will be a brake drum forge... Also by putting on a cart it becomes portable as I have not decided where to setup a permanent smithy…

I acquired a brake drum off rear of a pickup truck and old propane BBQ which sacrificed its life for a cart/stand to build forge on...

Pictures in this build series are as follows...

001 Salvaged propane BBQ stand.
post-29850-0-93063900-1357409275_thumb.j

002 Pickup truck rear brake drum.
post-29850-0-70642000-1357409292_thumb.j

003 Sort of first mockup to see how things fit (perspective).
post-29850-0-19434300-1357409343_thumb.j

004 12 volt Nissan heater blower.
post-29850-0-46758400-1357409352_thumb.j

005 10 gauge steel sheet for hearth floor.
post-29850-0-39098300-1357409360_thumb.j

006 3 x 1/8 inch hearth sides.
post-29850-0-46685100-1357409380_thumb.j

007 Everything tack welded together for initial fit.
post-29850-0-26908800-1357409397_thumb.j

008 Blower motor with draft gate.
post-29850-0-45470000-1357409412_thumb.j

009 Blower motor mounted to stand.
post-29850-0-46765500-1357409426_thumb.j

010 Weld in tank bung.
post-29850-0-56292500-1357409458_thumb.j

011 Bung and drum (one could say "all bunged up").
post-29850-0-82932000-1357409470_thumb.j

012 2 inch plumbing parts to form tuyere.
post-29850-0-26465500-1357409485_thumb.j

013 One could say "it's all screwed up".
post-29850-0-30137900-1357409501_thumb.j

014 Everything fitted together.
post-29850-0-20946700-1357409609_thumb.j

015 Cut out from hearth floor repurposed as bottom of fire pot.
post-29850-0-17984000-1357409627_thumb.j

016 Grate fitted to fire pot.
post-29850-0-43963300-1357409648_thumb.j