I Forge Iron

Cable/wire-rope

This probably has been beaten to death already, but a quick search didn't turn up much, so here goes:

Where do you get small amounts of steel cable ?

And how can you tell what the composition is ?  Spark test ?

If it's used cable, what do you do to get rid of the grease and crud, besides just fireing it up ?

Thanks... I've never used cable before and I'm thinking about it.

Pete

Call up an elevator service company or one that works with cranes; out this way a drilling rig servicing company would be my first choice as all these items tend to change the wear pattern on their steel cable on a regular basis by pulling a length off and cutting it. Also a wire rope/cable company that sells and splices and etc pieces Did a simple google of Wire Rope New Hampshire and got 8 hits for example: Cableworks, Inc. - Putnam, CT (Serving New Hampshire) Distributor, Custom Manufacturer Custom manufacturer & distributor of wire ropes. Types of wire ropes include stranded wire ropes, cable tool drilling wire ropes, reel length wire ropes, cut coils wire ropes & special fabricated wire ropes. Wire ropes are fabricated in different materials such as carbon steel, galvanized steel & stainless steel. Available in dia. from 1/16 in. to 2 in. Wire ropes are used for lifting, pulling & hoisting applications. Wire ropes meet OSHA, ASME/ANSI, ASTM & military standards. Same-day delivery available. As to finding out what type it is you ask as they *have* to know the alloy to sell it for critical use activities.

Thanks... that early offering was one of the few that turned up on a search.  I see he never posted prices -- or at least not yet.  No urgency in any case -- I wouldn't likely be doing anything much with it before Spring. 

I hadn't considered the other sources.  Kind of embarrassing, since I worked for Otis Elevator for a few years.

--Pete