I Forge Iron

what are some good dimensions for a gas forge?

Modvitner

I've been working with a coal forge for a few years now.

But, I've decided to switch to gas as to not torture my new neighborhood with coal smoke.

I do a bit of everything now and then so I'm having trouble deciding on decent dimensions for a forge body that will give me a good compromise between size of pieces that can be worked and amount of fuel (& number of burners) required.

Does anyone have any suggestions on a good size for a general purpose forge?

Appropriate to the size of your work?

If you are working wide scrolls, 4x8 inch stock in a power hammer, small stuff that rarely exceeds a small envelope, small stuff in a considerably larger envelope, you will want vastly different forges.

Phil

BTW building additional forges of different sizes is easy after building the first. Start small and cheap.
Phil

I agree with Phil.... there is no one size forge that fits all needs. I have built many forges trying to get there.

For small work, I have evolved to the forge design in these pictures. It is simply an eight inch section of a large oxygen cylinder (eight inches in diameter), with a slot cut out of the side (with a table), and 3 inch "C" channel welded on the ends so I can use soft fire brick for sliding doors. A cylinder can be cut into an appropriate size and configuration with a zip disk. If you can weld, you can easily build this forge. Proper lining is the most important aspect to having an efficient forge. If your forge sits on a metal table, you could just sit bricks on the table for the end doors. If you do use the "C" channel for sliding doors, the bricks can be shaped with a farrier's file and/or easily cut with an old hand saw.