I Forge Iron

old anvil with a history (dont they all)

I was at a friends this evening and took some pictures of his old anvil.I think it is a colonial anvil.not sure as im just a rookie. this anvil was passed down many generations(exact amount is unknown ) but the anvil was used or maybe even created at his families furnace. It was the Ormand-Washington furnace here in NC. believed to be the second oldest furnace in the nation. it was located near Bessemer city named after the fellow that created the Bessemer process. He tells stories of how his grandfather used to have mishaped cannon balls from the civil war laying around and used them as door stops. and he used to find them out back laying around and would play with them when he was a young boy. heres some pics i hope they turned out ok i took them with my cell phone.
post-23601-0-99751200-1336440427_thumb.j
post-23601-0-13258500-1336440500_thumb.j
post-23601-0-65196900-1336440464_thumb.j

Very old (1760-1830?) and extremely worn English block pattern anvil, made without a horn or pritchel hole. The hard steel face is worn thru in spots.

They were fairly common in this area and the rest of the south prior the War of Northern Aggression :rolleyes: , the blockades almost put Mousehole out of business due to lost revenue.

As for the cannon balls, well, this was the last Confederate naval stores depot, the Virginia works was relocated inland at the end of the railways the the Yankees did not wreck. The many iron ore furnaces, some dating back to the 1760's, in the surrounding area supported the Mecklenburg Ironworks (gold mining machinery maker) up until the Depression.

Very old (1760-1830?) and extremely worn English block pattern anvil, made without a horn or pritchel hole. The hard steel face is worn thru in spots.

They were fairly common in this area and the rest of the south prior the War of Northern Aggression :rolleyes: , the blockades almost put Mousehole out of business due to lost revenue.