I Forge Iron

tax ID number?

now, i have a welding business and my uncle since november has been my supplier of my cast goods, well, i need some cast goods and he has passed, his wife wont sell me anything i need but i did find this nice little place in memphis that will sell me what i need, my question was: i can get the stuff i need at wholesale price if i have a tax id number, if i get a tax id number, am i going to have to pay taxes on my business?

If a minor pays cash on delivery, would anyone be reluctant to sell to him? I'm not a business expert and certainly not an expert on taxes or the law, but around here it seems that one gets a sales tax number when you start doing business. Also, I don't know about Memphis, but I have opened wholesale accounts and purchased from companies without providing my tax number. It seems that the economy is sufficient motivator to do business especially for cash. Also, at least one wholesaler in Maryland will not accept Pennsylvania tax numbers but will still sell to anyone that walks in the door at the wholesale price in return for payment at the counter.

If you use a tax # to buy , you must charge sales tax when you sell. At one time I didn't file my quarterly return because I had no sales......( forty years ago ) I received a bill for $2000 from the tax man, I dropped that number right away !!

well, we make frequent trips to memphis (actually tunnica because my mom and aunt love slots) and i found a guy who can supply me with my cast iron goods i need, its just i save about 40-60% on the item depending on what it is, dont get me wrong this is a small business, if im lucky ill clear 1k a year. so i didnt know whether i should get a tax id number or just bit the bullet on profit margins.

as I said... how will you get the tax number? see my first post.