I Forge Iron

I hate when a STEAL comes along, and you don't have money.

Don Nguyen

A 2x48 burrking is being sold in my town for $500 (Tucson, AZ). Looks to be in really good condition too. These run for ~$2000 new.

And I don't even have $200 on me. I dislike being a college student >:[

5N55Y05M93I63F73H3bcl00700182b9da1d9e.jp
5I25O45F43Ga3I23Jabcl3940d9e2203b159a.jp
5Na5F15M33G33Ia3Hdbcl5e1a76967bba1f4c.jp

Sorry if this is the wrong section. I wasn't sure where grinder stuff belongs to.

I have a chance to borrow money and be able to pay it back within a month. Even then, I may have to pass up on it.

Pros:

-First real equipment for me
-Would be used for a long, long time
-Extremely good deal

Cons:

-I'd be dead broke for a few months.
-No new materials/supplies for a while.
-When I move, I might not be able to use it.
-I'm a college student; I have to worry about everything else.

Yeesh. I'll probably have to pass... Perhaps within the next year or two I'll have another chance - to either buy or make one.

Your posts say you are into knives. That is not a knifemaking belt grinder. IT is certainly a good grinder and at a good price. For knives you need a 2" x 72" belt grinder with a way to change speeds. Also need a flat platen for flat grinding and if you wish to do hollow grinding a contact wheel , I use an 8" others may like larger. It is hard to do blade work on a 4" wide belt. easier on a 2", Belts for a 2" x 72" are easly to find in any grit you may imagine. I have them fro 36 grit up to 9 micron. ( not sure wot grit that equals, but really fine.) Belts are also easy to get in all price ranges and for wood or steel or both.
All that said you could use that and special order belts in knfe making kinds of belts for it at a price. I think that later down the road you would still want different grinder. Sometimes bargains are wayyy pricey if you have to replace them later,

Thanks for the input everyone.