I Forge Iron

Workshop Layout Ideas

My wife and I just bought a new house, and one of the things it has is sufficient garage space to give one to me as a dedicated work shop. Since I'm just moving in, and it's about twice the size of my old space, my tools have plenty of room so far.

I'm a hobbyist who got interested in blacksmithing when I taught myself to weld a few years back. I'm not planning on having a commercially-viable space, but I would like to build some architectural pieces for my house, and build some motorcycle chassis.

I was hoping I could get some ideas on best layout, considerations for usage, guidelines or thoughts on how much space certain things should get, etc. I've put together a really cruddy MS Paint picture, showing the general layout (not to scale! ) with doors and electrical.

My forge and anvil will go outside the 36" door, on the patio area.

Other tools and equipment:

20" Floor-standing drill press
4X6 HF bandsaw
Atlas bench-top mill
180-amp MIG welder
Bench grinder

Rolling tool chest
Work bench 30X84
Work bench 36X48
Shelving unit 24X48

I was thinking that I'd put the power equipment along the left-hand wall, and my tool chest, shelving unit, and work benches along the right hand side. I have to build a material rack for steel stock that I'd also put along the right hand side.

I'd also like to add a small lathe (like a 12X36) some time in the next year, so I'll want to plan for that.

Any layout or workflow considerations that I should be making? Any general ideas on what works and what doesn't?

Thanks!

post-4661-0-22690300-1319570857_thumb.jp