I Forge Iron

Mig welding copper

Bsmith

I'm completely new at this so I'll try not to ramble. I'm building a copper sink out of .064 copper and I'm welding (just learning to weld also) it with an old Cebora 200 amp welder, cranked all the way up and wire feed about as fast as it will go I think about 350-400 IPM, using .035 deoxydized copper wire and 100 percent argon at 40CFH. It works 1-1/2" at a time before burn thru, but there is a huge amount of soot covering the weld and about an inch of the metal on either side. There is also lots of splatter at the start of the weld, Is this normal?

Well I've never welded copper before or even thought of it so I'm probably talking out of my backside. On mild steel a 200 amp welder cranked will blow holes in very short order. I would try running somewhere around 50 amps and slow your wire speed to match. You surely have some scraps use them for practice. Good luck and I would like to see some of the welds.

We used to weld 1/8" copper on a VERY regular basis here but have since shut down the plant where it was used. After much frustration we went to welding with TIG and using a light coating of flux. The flux you need is Bay State #11. You can also weld 316L SS to copper by this same procedure. Buff the area to be welded, lightly flux, weld. Helium is an excellent shield gas for welding thicker copper as it produces a much hotter weld arc but for your application 100% argon is good. If you are set on welding with the MIG process you may want to try to make your welds more down-hill instead of flat. As for the "black soot", buffing the area to be welded may help or you may need to go to a tri-mix shielding gas---something like 92-6-2---argon-CO2-oxy. Like I mentioned before, we found the welds to be much better using the TIG process and flux. I've been at this welding thing since 1973. Good luck!