I Forge Iron

Newbie Here!

Your best bet is to find the blacksmithing group nearest to you, attend meetings, try out the equipment that others have before purchasing any, and if at all possible take as many courses as your can afford.

If you add your approximate location to your Icon then others can help you find classes, groups and other resources near you.

Start right here on IForgeIron.com Read the entire site, twice. Use the search engine as it is your friend.

Youtube has some good information, and some bad information, and you can not tell the difference. There is no way to edit out the mis-information or the parts what are just wrong. A slick presentation containing bad information, or a video that should have been labeled *Hey y'all, watch this !!* can and will get YOU hurt.

IForgeIron is about knowledge of the craft. If mis-information is posted it usually self corrects in the next post. IForgeIron is about safety. Your personal safety is YOUR personal responsibility to keep YOU safe. You have to learn how to do that, you have to learn what PPE personal protection equipment is needed for the work you are doing. You need to learn how to protect others where you are working, including how to protect the family dog who came to visit.

So far this post is all about keeping you safe. We have had children as young as 6 years old blacksmithing. It can be done safely, but you MUST learn how.

As David said, find a blacksmithing group near you (click here). You will learn more from the group, and faster, than you can imagine. Ask question, do your homework, practice at the forge, and return to ask more questions.

Go to IForgeIron > Blacksmithing, general discussion and read the getting started posts that have been ask and answered already.

IForgeIron is world wide. Go to your profile on this site and enter your location, This will help get you information as it relates to YOUR location.

Others will provide their comments and suggestions.