I Forge Iron

Side blast tuyere

Andrzej

I have been forging for about 10 years with home made equipment. I have gradually perfected my kit over the last few years. One of the features I have had trouble with is the air blast. A tuyere from teh bottom though traditional and engineering wise fairly easy to achieve was a constant problem due to blockages with clinker. A few months ago I tried a side tuyere with a sacrificial iron tube. It melted. I tried a kiln brick bored down the centre - melted. An engineering brick also melted. So I copied a design for a water cooled tuyere and after several days of arc welding to get it water proof along the seams I tried it out. Astonishingly it works like a dream but I am conscious it may not last. Has anyone tried anything else? Just in case my welds don't hold or rust through A titanium tube has been suggested - has anyone tried a titanium side tuyere?

If the water cooling doesn't work try a copper tube. Sounds insane I know and although I havn't tried it I read in an old book that the copper tube is supposed to last a lot longer then cast iron ones for a side blast.

The copper is much more reflective and so absorbs a lot less heat via radiation as opposed to the iron. The copper also has a much greater capacity for heat transfer so the tip stays much cooler.

One other thing you could try is to pack ashes around the tube, those who have tried this with steel tubes say that the tube burns back to the ashes, then stops there.

Caleb Ramsby