I Forge Iron

Hello

Gorlimtouk

Hello all,

I am new to forging iron/steel and decided to make the leap and give it a go:
after many hours watching other blacksmiths at LARP-fair's and Historical Reënacting on several occasions.
From my study: Mechanical Engineer (i'm still a student) i have basic knowledge about iron, steals, quenching and iron-carbon structures (austenistic, martensite etc.)

From my first project: forging a coal noun (to stir up the coles) from an iron rod, to forging a crude cross for a friend of mine.
I experienced i could not weld the irons together (yet) with my woodstoked forge using a square brick of granite for anvil (its crude but it does the job)
With deep respect i now look upon the blacksmith's work and hope to learn a lot on these fora.

i'll be trying to fireweld the cross next (think i'll use a gass-burner + wood or "cheat" by regular welding) and would like to thank everyone in advance for the knowledge i've already gained from these fora.

Yours sincerely,

Gorlimtouk

any tips on projects to start on (for educational means) are welcome!

a Rooky, hobby 'blacksmith' (cant call myself that yet before i get all basic skills atleast)
P.S. english is a 2nd language so i'd like to apoligise in advance for any language/vocabular mistakes i make

Welcome to IFI,

No apologies needed for the language barrier. Most of us have english as our first language and we butcher it badly.

First things to start with are small things that won't get you discouraged. Things like leaves, nails, random twists and curls to learn how metal moves when hot. I was told when I first started to get some modeling clay and use it to learn how metal moves under a hammer. It really does help.

The most important thing to remember is safety. Look at the safety topics and read through them. There are a lot of goot things to learn there.

Enjoy your new found hobby. It is great.

Mark <º)))><

Hi,

Please tell us where you live.