I Forge Iron

How do I cut a horseshoeing rasp?

I am new to blacksmithing and have tons of questions, this site has been great for info !! Thanks, everybody !!

I have been picking up large horse rasps whenever I come across one at auctions, flea markets, etc. I would like to use one for a project.

How do I cut it lengthwise? I searched this site for "hot cut" but didn't see what I needed.

I would like the rasp's pattern to still be prominent when I am done.

Kevin

Laser, waterjet, plasma cutter, O-A, anneal and cut with a hacksaw or large shear, rotozip, or use a handled hot cut with the metal hot from the forge (or even a hand held chisel---making sure the handle is long enough not to cook the holding hand!

Providing information on what you plan to do with it might help narrow down the best method in your case.

Now if you want instructions on how to make a hot cut I'm sure you will ask.

Hey Grundge, there are tons of ways to cut your rasps, it just depends on what's going to be easier for you. If you have a hot cut just heat that bad boy up and start cutting down the lenght of your rasp, or you could hacksaw it is that's an easier route? Angle grinder with a cut off wheel even!

if I were you, I'd use an angle grinder to cut half of the way through then lay a side over the edge of your anvil, or a stump (widthwise) and hit it with a hammer (while still full hard). You could also cut all the way through with an angle grinder. Please note that i've never done this before, it's just an idea that i'm pulling out of thin air

Geez, I do have an angle grinder, I will pick up some of those thinner wheels and give it a try.

Okay being a newbie, could you explain the how a hot cut would work for this? I have a cutoff hardie, or do I heat the whole thing up and use a chisel? (Just tryin to learn here guys!)