I Forge Iron

Hans Piot gas forge Blower problem

hammerwolfe

I have used these burners for many years and at times I have had small flash back problems ... but they have never lasted..
I have constructed two new burners and they work great and the flame looks very good but the slightest change and they go into the flash back mode or Back pressure mode....... by shutting the main gas valve and turning the valve back on the problem temporally goes away.
Anyone out there with any experience with the back pressure?????
Any input would be appreciated.....
Thanks .... Mike....

What kind of flame retention device do you have on your burner tubes? For blown burners it seems they work best with some kind of partial restriction on the end of the tube. I am no expert but I recently built a 4 burner blown forge and am using a sink strainer (modified) inside each tube. I tried using those stainless steel scrubbers in the tube and that worked also but since my tubes are vertical they don't stay well. Some designs seem to use burner tubes crimped on the ends.

I have used these burners for many years and at times I have had small flash back problems ... but they have never lasted..
I have constructed two new burners and they work great and the flame looks very good but the slightest change and they go into the flash back mode or Back pressure mode....... by shutting the main gas valve and turning the valve back on the problem temporally goes away.
Anyone out there with any experience with the back pressure?????
Any input would be appreciated.....
Thanks .... Mike....

It seems as though you're not getting enough air to accommodate the gas and the burner tubes are heating up. I've seen smiths introduce a small tube of compressed air. Don't know for sure as I'm a ribbon burner fan.

JE

Thanks Steve, Grant, John for your replies.