I Forge Iron

Positive Pressure Face Masks

Ok, I started this idea in another thread, but I cannot find any information anywhere, so I decided to start here. I would like to make/fabricate a fresh air hood to keep flying sparks, welding spatter, maybe a little heat from forging and casting. Anyways it is just a thought for now.

MY intentions were to connect this to my air compressor and have a regulator on the hood. I am kind of a fat guy, and I sweat a lot and breath heavy. My welding helmet fogs up after 4 minutes of welding, and it sucks to have to stop, take off the gloves, take off the helmet, wipe off the window, put the helmet back on, put the gloves back on, blah, blah, blah... I worked in a shop where they had a setup like this. It was a anti-shatter face shield with a thick denim hood sewn together and fastened on the face shield. This whole thing had a regulator and quick disconnect on the back sticking out. This all was connected to an air hose that was suspended from the ceiling.

I was planning on a rig like this, making one out of my welding helmet and another out of the face shield, mimicking this hood I used. Now, on the other forum, , I was told that this might be a bad idea because of oil, dirt, dust, and whatever comes out of the compressor. Now, I would imagine that if I connected some sort of filter, this would be alleviated, but I'm not sure what to look for. Now, if anyone has undertaken this, or knows in what direction i can go to accomplish this, any information would be greatly appreciated.

AWS article on positive air hoods

Welding fume extractors why not just get rid of the fumes

Jackson welding hood with air
positive air welding hood
another positive air hood

Related material
FAST Helmet Technology used in racing.

No matter what you buy, the salesman gets his commission and you breathe the air on the inside of the hood.
Do some homework and remember that your personal safety is YOUR responsibility.