I Forge Iron

well i made my first set of tongs

Hello all,

as you already know I'm new at this... but today i made my first set of tongs. here are some pics. I made them following the article shown here http://www.blksmth.com/tong_article.htm which i found googling for blacksmith stuff one day. Ther is some cracking at the hinge area right where the bend starts for the pinchers. I believe i made the notches to mark the stock too deep, so when i made the bends they split a little. Next set will be better. These were made from 1/4X3/4 12"long stock, just like in the article.

Let me know what you think. These took me about 5 hours total to make.

first_tongs_a.jpg first_tongs_b.jpg first_tongs_c.jpg first_tongs_d.jpg

Thanks!
L

Thanks for all the comments everyone! Now I'm jonesin' to make some more but i don't think I'll get back to the forge until tuesday.

Sorry, that link in the url i posted was broke...

I basically followed the steps in this article to make them:
Tong Article

But i didn't do any work in a vise, and i didn't really read the article. I just used the anvil and looked at the pictures in the article for how to shape the piece. It took quite a while like 5-6 hours to make the set, alot of trial and error.

To assemble them my dad held the work piece over the small hole in the anvil while i drove a punch in on each piece for the hinge pin. I made a small rivet out of 3/8 stock, heated it to a bright orange, put it though the hinge holes, and mushroomed it out on each side. Man, that rivet was almost the hardest part, the first one didn't mushroom, it just bent and looked like crap so i took it out. Next one turned out ok. We also put a washer in between the two parts at the hinge. I dont think there's supposed to be a washer in there but i thought it would help keep them from binding.