I Forge Iron

Something to make

Hello guys,

I was thinking about this and am a total loss... I am a beginner blacksmith. To date I have made several tomahawks, a pair of tongs, and a knife. I have a small propane forge and I am looking for a project that will not only suite my skills, but also challenge me to get better. I wanted to make my wife something nice, but am at a loss as what to do? Any ideas... what have you guys done for your signifigant others in the past? I know this is a very broad subject, but I am looking for inspiration.

Thanks,
Mark

Well since your wife must want what my wife does; open hearth cooking equipment is indicated!

A simple trivet: take 3 lengths of say 1/4" x 3/8" strap, Take two of them and forge weld the bottom couple of inches together. Place the welded part in a vise and bend the tops out. Weld the last strap to one end of one of the tops as before and bend it out, then heat and adjust so you can line up and weld the last free ends together. then Heat and adjust so that the e=welded sections are the legs---I generally forge a foot on them to keep them from sinking in the ground under weight and the foot can make the final adjustment so the trivet is level easier.

A decorative toasting fork or a ladle is easier...

Or how about making her a set of hatchels for flax processing!

How about a quarters mokume gane heart
Take about 15 quarters out of your change doesnt matter what year as long as they are 1965 or newer you want the copper in the middle.
Stack them as best you can and hold with flat jaw tongs or made a holder out of 2 pieces of scrap steel 1/4' X ? wider than the quarters drill 2 holes for 5/16 bolts.
This fixture will be used to hold the quarters in a stack till they are hot and then squeezed in a vise.
You dont have to clean or flux the quarters