I Forge Iron

super sucker side draft with a side exit stove pipe

robodog

Newbie here. I just inherited an entire blacksmith shop and I'm about to set up the chimney. The shop is in an old horse stall in my barn. The chimney will be stovepipe that will enter through a cinder block wall. I'm thinking about building the super sucker side draft that I've seen plans for. So, here's my question: Rather than have the stovepipe go out the top of the super sucker side draft (SSSD), I am thinking of having it come out the back of the SSSD. From there it would go straight out through the wall and then take a 90 degree turn up.

Comments? Suggestions? Advice?

Thanks, Roger

Do a site search for Hofi's through the wall chimney.

One thing about those old barns, make sure everything that can burn has been removed from your forging area. Create some walls or half walls that seal to the floor to keep any hot stuff contained in your area. Grinding sparks can travel 20 feet or more and that red hot piece of metal that you just cut off on the hot cut can skip, bounce, and hide in some inaccessible places.Keep a 5 gallon bucket of water handy so you can put out any fires while they are still small

IN addition to a 5 gal. bucket of water I would suggest a large fire extinguisher kept in a easilly accessable place. I have had two or three small fires start from grinder sparks and or welding and believe me fire can spread very rapidly (don't ask me how I know this). An old horse barn or stall is a tinder box waiting for an ignition source. in the attached photo , note the fire extinguisher on the wall at the end of the welding table. You can't imagine how bad it feels to say " I should have had a fire extinguisher "
Harley

post-670-0-05391800-1290069823_thumb.jpg

Glenn and Harley,