I Forge Iron

Definitive Test for a Forge Weld?

I am fairly new to smithing. I have made hooks and some other stuff but I tried my first forge weld today and I would like to know what you think. I have deliberately left the images high res so people could see the details. Essentially I took 3/8ths bar and bent it back on itself then covered the areas to be welded with borax and then heated it to fuming hot under high propane heat and then tapped it together then hammered it hard.

Clearly on the bottom of the loop I have a bit of a cold shut for a bit but above that I THINK it is welded. I dont know how to make sure short of a destructive test. I suppose I could cut through it and see what I can see but I was wondering if anyone could look at my attempt, give me an opinion or suggestions and suggest a manner I could know pretty sure that it is actually welded.

Thanks for looking.

post-15449-000544500 1288404642_thumb.jp

post-15449-067830900 1288404671_thumb.jp

I have a possible solution. take a grinder or files to the sides and get polish the weld area then etch. I'm not sure if this would help or not, but i think it might make it esier to see where the weld is and isn't.

please someone correct me if I am wrong. I just might be, heck I probably am.

Hey Kraythe!

I tried the exact same thing for my first weld! Did you put it back in the forge for a second heat?

One way to tell if the weld is complete is that both pieces of metal are the same colour. If the two parts are different colours as they cool, they're not fused (or at least, not completely). This doesn't tell you as much about the quality of the weld as a destructive test, but it's definitely a good start.

Does anyone know if this method can be used to figure out the *quality* of the weld, and not just if it's complete?

Another way to tell would be to use an ultrasound tester, but those are a bit thin on the ground. :rolleyes: