I Forge Iron

Where to find Steel

Greetings,

I am only a newbie at this trade but I am always on the lookout for sources of scrap steel that can be used to make various things for smithing and what kind of steel it is likely to be. I was surprised there wasn't a sticky somewhere on this (if there was and I missed it, I apologize) Anyway I thought it would be great to find out where people get steel. Although saying a scrap yard is a good place to get steel is helpful, many newer people don't know what to look for. So I will start by passing on my meager knowledge and then hopefully others can add to it.

* Used Jackhammer Bits: Can usually be gotten for free at your neighborhood tool rental place. Theoretically they can be S7 Steel but apparently they are more commonly 1040 or 1045. They are very good stuff for making tools and their shaft is almost the right size for a hardie.

* Coil Springs from vehicles: Can be 5160 steel but not always. Best to spark check. These apparently work great for tools and indeed the one punch i have made right now seems to work great. When these are heated and streched out they make round stock. Most i have find make 1/2" round stock and sometimes 5/8ths I am looking to get ahold of a truck spring and see if it is bigger.

* Leaf springs: Like coil springs but are more like bar stock.

* Scrapyard steel: Usually economical if you choose a small mom and pop scrapyard. With shiny floors new forkifts and loaders, expect to pay premium price. The best scrap yard I know of in the Denver area is K&K Surplus in Commerce City. I just picked up 2 dozen bars of 2' x 1/2" round mild steel for 50 cents a pound. Often these yards will have punch out rounds from manufacturing which can be quite hefty and useful.

Other ideas for sources of steel, especially tool steel?

See now Robert,you`re already bustin` out of that newbie shell and sharin` what ya know!
Way to take advantage of that 2 way street.

Hey guys,I think we hooked another one! :D