I Forge Iron

Anvil Rehab

I bought this anvil yesterday for $60 (Canadian ;))

post-13166-086342400 1285297115_thumb.jp post-13166-001992300 1285297232_thumb.jppost-13166-018706200 1285297197_thumb.jppost-13166-064459200 1285297170_thumb.jppost-13166-031508200 1285297143_thumb.jp

The heel was broken off and welded back on and some supports were added. The tip of the horn was built back up. Most of the edges have been welded up as well, but there is a nice section about 4in long near the horn with a nice small & smooth radius.

Question #1: What kind of makover should I give it? I'm still a beginner and I don't want to ruin the anvil by being overzealous, and so I was thinking of simply grinding smooth the tip of the horn and leaving the rest as is.

Question #2: It looks like whoever fixed it up welded it up good- what do you people think of using *some* hardy tools on it? I'm thinking it could bear hotcuts and the like- no heavy pounding.

Question #3: What on earth is it? I see a "B" on the bottom row, a "185" followed by what looks roughly like a "k" in the middle row. In the top row, I can see what looks like a "P" followed by something that could be either a "U" or an "O" and at least 3 more letters. I haven't found any markings underneath or on the feet, but I haven't completely cleaned it yet. It seems like 185lbs would be about right for the weight, but for the rest I have no clue. :huh:

What do you good people think?