I Forge Iron

Heat treating 1080 / 1084 / C80W2 steel

Hi everyone,

I recently bought C80W2, the steel arrived yesterday, here is the chemical analysis:
C 0,82%
Si 0,25%
Mn 0,22%
Mo --
V --
Cr 0,10%
Ni 0,05%
Cu 0,06%
W 0,01%
P 0,030% max
S 0,030% max

I have never worked with this steel before so I hope you can give me some tips about how to heat treat this steel. I intend to make several tanto with the steel and I will be claying it to form a hamon. This steel seemed ideal to make a hamon.
From the information I have gathered this seems like a good heat treatment:

Normalize 2 times by heating to 820 Celcius (1510F), taking it out of the fire, cool till black color, heat up to 820 again, cool to room temperature.
Clay the blade, clay thickness will be about 5mm (1/5 inch).
Heat to 780 Celcius (1440F), soak for a few minutes, then quench in water.
Temper two times at 200 C (390 F) for one hour.

Let me know what you think about this. I am not sure about the normalizing.
Any feedback or tips are welcome.

Louis

780C would be hot enough only if the steel were heated very very slowly.

It is important to remember the phase diagram is isothermal. If we heat more quickly, the transformtion temperature increases. Eutectioid transformation temperature can be around 1600F when induction heating small sections.

I echo Son_Of_Bluegrass' suggestion. You might get away with as little as 800C.

Thanks for the tips.

If 780 turns out to be too low, I will try 800C. I always try to heat slowly.
The reason why I am starting at 780C (1440F) is because this steel is right around the eutectoid point. Therefore it requires the lowest temperature and shortest soak time of all blade-steels.
Howard Clark suggested 780C to me as a starting point because of these reasons.