I Forge Iron

Post Vise

mvflaim

Hi all,

I'm a brand new member here. I'm a long time woodworker who is intertested in learning blacksmithing so I can incorporate metal into my furniture that I build. I just started to acquire tools and bought a post vise at an auction last weekend. My question is; is the bottom of the vise supposed to touch the floor when installed on a bench? I have been scrolling through pics on this forum and noticed that some of the photos show the vise not touching the ground.

Thanks
Mike

The whole point of having a leg vise is to have the leg in firm contact with the ground.
If that doesn`t happen then you just have a bench vise with a redundant leg hanging off of it.
That leg transfers the impact of beating on the vise to the floor.Without firm contact to the floor whatever the vise is attached to has to absorb that impact.With heavy use you may have a hard time keeping the vise tight to the bench or whatever else supports it.Either the wedges or the hardware can work loose due to repeated impact.

The purpose of a post vise it to absorb heavy impact so it is necessary for the leg to rest on a solid plate. The plate can be part of the stand in the case of using a portable vise mount. I don't have a way to post pics because I used my iPhone for all of my Internet usage. My vise is mounted on a post set in the dirt floor of my shop. Your vise should have a spike of sorts on the long downward leg. Mine did not so I forged a tire iron to fit the socket and let it rest on a metal plate sunk into the concrete poured around the post. I hope this helps and good luck!!!

Welcome aboard Mike, glad to have ya!