I Forge Iron

my first hawk

I made a hawk from a ballpeen hammer for my nephew, Jamie. After my brother saw it he said Jaie couldn't have it. I asked him before starting and he said yes, then I finished and he said no...all that hard work. Now I have myself a nice hawk.
This is my first try at making any bladed thing. I love it, there are a few hammer marks on the blade side I couldn't get out, but I can over look them. then there are some hammer marks on the hammer side I decided to leave. I think they make it look interesting.

my second blade was a knife kmade from a lathe chisel I had a tempering issue and the tang broke off. its one the scrap pile until I decide it's time to learn to forge weld.

my next try at a hawk was a RR spike hawk also my first attempt at hot cutting. When I cut the eye hole, my cut was off center, and then the socket broke. I think I waited too long before returning it to the fire.

I guess I get to learn from my mistake by having everything break. lol.
when these thing broke I stopped working on them, to finish or retask the metal later
sorry my pics aren't the best

post-13874-010421900 1276484097_thumb.jp

post-13874-016943700 1276484104_thumb.jp

post-13874-000186000 1276484112_thumb.jp

post-13874-089655200 1276484123_thumb.jp

post-13874-074267700 1276484130_thumb.jp

post-13874-084176900 1276484138_thumb.jp

Tim---thanks for taking time to post pictures. The one you finished from the ball pien has a nice shape. You have figured out the the issue with slitting/punching the eye so clearly you learned from that one too.

With tempering , I have broken a fair share of mostly wood carving chisels (worked from disgarded coil springs)...it happens and doesn't take a thing away from the learning if you have watched the color you will have a better idea how to work that particular steel.