I Forge Iron

help with lathe purchase....

Will Oliver

hi all. i don't think i have posted before. but. I need some advice. I went to the local used tool store and they have an old craftsman metal working lathe. its mounted on a table and it seems nice. it has a four jaw chuck and a whole mess of tools to go with it. The asking price is 400. it only needs a belt. this is a crappy picture of it. but i was wondering what yall think of it? I have never used a lathe before and I would like to build one, using the gingery series but time is so hard for me to find to do that. kids, school and what not.

They also have a huge leblonde regal lathe for $2,500 which. I know would be nice. its just so HUGE! : ) thanks in advance.

WIll

post-9777-12685070333543_thumb.jpg

Probably worth $400.00, ya ever heard of "negotiating"? Heck, offer him $2,000.00 for the LeBlonde, he'll take it, you'll find room and you'll never regret it. Beside you'd probably want to buy a three-jaw chuck for the sears. And the LeBlonde probably has quick-change threading.

Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain!(the one who looks like Frank Zappa)He`ll only teach you bad habits. ;)

If you have never run a lathe and aren`t sure if you even need one then maybe a $400 metal lathe will be a good investment to get your feet wet and not waltz yourself off into too much trouble.If you take to it like a duck to water and can find a way to make money with it then upgrade and either keep the Craftsman for small stuff or sell it and get your money back.Even better would be to look into adult ed classes at a local vo-tech school.That way you could learn with a knowing hand at your side.(ready to whack you on the knuckles with a pair of slip joint pliers if you reach for the wrong thing).