I Forge Iron

Questions about copper

poseyforge

I was wondering whether copper sheet is easily cut?
also what tools I would need to form it like punches and stuff.
lastly I was thinking of doing some crafty like stuff for Christmas such as two holly leaves with berries and small Christmas trees out of copper so I was wondering what to use to attach pieces... solder seems like the most obvious thing but again I'm pretty new to this, and also how to you enamel copper because I saw some holly leaves and berries and the leaves were green with copper veins showing through and the berries were red.????? Any help with this would be cool... :D:confused::confused::confused:

Edited by poseyforge

I assume you mean "sheet" as plate starts at 1/4 inch. Copper is fairly soft so you can cut it with the usual stuff like snips and such. Kinda tough to drill as it's "gummy" and wants to grab. Soft soldering works great on copper. Don't know squat about enameling, though. Have fun and be sure to have your report done by Friday.

True enameling requires clean copper that you apply ground coloured glass to (front and back) and then you heat it until it melts and slow cool it. They make little table top heating units for doing enameling as an art form (just had one go through the local fleamarket in great shape for US$10!)

If there is a community college near you they may offer a course in it I know the one less than 1 mile from where I am at now does.

Sure would be nice if you would edit your cp and list your general location---someone close might be able to make a suggestion on where you could get training!