I Forge Iron

Worth saving this anvil?

Greetings,

I am new to blacksmithing, having just taken a four day introductory class. I'm gathering tools so that I can start practicing what I learned.

I found in small anvil in the workshop of extended family, but it looks like it probably needs re-surfacing/edging. As it is so small, I am wondering if it is worth getting resurfaced; I know that I'll need a much larger anvil. It was probably used for shoeing at one time, but no one knows for sure.

Text on the side of the anvil says Peter Wright Patent England Solid Wrought 0 3 1.

4025988709_718083ee26_o.jpg

4025988725_3db787f83e.jpg

4025988715_a02c8d1c81.jpg

4025988693_294758feda.jpg

Thanks for your time.

-Matt

Edited by mmthomas

That anvil is in good condition. The edges and face are fine for all but jewelry work. I would not try any "restoration" on that anvil, but use it as is. That is considered a good brand of anvil as well.

Should be 85#, a nice size for a travel or first anvil.

Phil

I have an almost identical anvil, I gave it to my grandson. I used it for awhile and did everything I normally did, including finishing plow shares after drawing out under the power hammer. I had a big anvil once, I only used it for doing the wing pivot on walking plows as it was too large for anything else except very large forgings when 1 or more strikers were available. Most blacksmith shops in the old days used anvils from that size up to about 150 lbs unless they had several journeymen and appretices and did industrial forgings. A big bulky Anvil doesn't make you a better blacksmith.