I Forge Iron

heat treat hot or cold roll?

hello guys, im just a mechanic at a golf course and haveing problems with some axles on some small greens mower trailers, the axles are 3/4" maybe 7/8" round stock, they are bending because of the weight of the mowers bounceing on the cart paths. the mowers are about 212#'s just wondering if i can heat up the part of the axle thats bending and dipping it in oil. would that help or am i just trying to push a lenth of chain up hill?
any and all suggestions or advice would be outstanding
thanks

If it has some carbon in it You may be able to do some good. I would contact the maker of the mower and see if they have a remedy. If not see if they can give you the specs for what they used for the axles then you can trace down any heat treat specifics. If the steel is hardenable and you heat treat just the ends there may be a point in the axle that may break and the wheel and all leave the mower...never a good thing.

Heat treating is a number of differing techniques. If your axles are high carbon steel heating them till non-magnetic (glowing red) and quenching them in oil will make them as brittle as glass if you don't then draw temper on them.

If they are a low end of medium carbon steel it might just make them harder to bend though tempering is always a good idea after hardening!

If they are a very low carbon steel then heating them up and quenching them in oil may actually make them softer!

Talk with the manufacturer first before experimenting! And note that steel will often bend or warp during heat treat

If you have a damaged axle you can experiment on that, but materials can change as suppliers change, so what you experiment on may be different from reality.