I Forge Iron

Has anyone tried a "Wood Gas" forge?

cilbuper

Greetings,

As I am new to iron working please excuse this post if this topic has already been covered.

I recently was introduced to the production of "wood gas" which is a syn gas or producer gas. It is essentially CO (carbon monoxide). When you see wood burning you are actually seeing the CO that is coming out of the wood igniting, giving you the flame. It is a very simple gas to produce and can be made from any biomass from wood, wood chips, saw dust, paper, cardboard, leaves, grass clippings, etc. The heat output from the gas varies with the amount of oxygen available and can be increased with a blower, much like adding oxygen to coke, charcoal, coal or wood. The temperatures will reach 1500 degree farenheit without problem and have heard of some setups reaching 2000 to 3000 degrees.

Making wood gas is not too much more difficult than making charcoal in a 55 gal drum. In fact, making a wood gas forge should be a "marraige" between a simple brake rotor/drum forge (with a blower/hair dryer setup) and the charcoal drum. I believe that when you make charcoal, most of the gas that is given off is CO and is lost in the process.

My theory is that we could eliminate the step needed to make charcoal and utilize the lost energy from the fuel needed to make the charcoal and the mass lost from the charcoal (which is converted to gas in the process) itself. My initial calculations seem to indicate that there is a 200-300% increase in the amount of energy recovered from the wood if converted and used directly as "wood gas".

If this could be done there would be almost no need to buy fuel as free wood/biomass can be found almost anywhere: pallets, builders/contractors, tree trimmers, lumber mills (scrap), lumber yards, landscapers, you name it!