I Forge Iron

copper help please

brenton88

Hy iv got some old copper tubing thats been soldiered and some copper out of some heavy eclectic cable and i would like to melt them down in to ingots but I'm new to smithing and smelting and was curious what i needed and what i needed to know before i get in over my head any help would be most appreciated

Welcome aboard Brenton, glad to have you.

Is there a reason you want to make copper ingots? The recyclers are usually more than happy if you just strip the insulation off first. If you're thinking about doing some copper casting you should pick up a book on the subject, there's more to it than just melting it down and pouring it. I'd offer specific advice but it isn't my thing so I don't know much more than to ask expert advice if I want to give it a shot.

Of course that's exactly what you're asking for so good on ya. I'm sure expert advice will be along shortly, it's that kind of place.

Frosty

thanks for the reply Frosty, their are a couple of reasons for my wanting to try this, first off i am a part time welder and a copper block or ingot is perfect for doing butt welds on a metal table, and the other is that i figure copper is one of the easier things to smelt so because I'm a beginner i thought i would try.

but thanks for your advice i will try to see what i can find.

Brenton

brass and bronze are easy Copper is NOT, it tends to clump in pure/near-pure form, even 10% additions of zink or tin makes a lot of difference in pouring.
Also forget ever selling those ingots, as being transformed, there is NO easy way for buyers/recyclers to know what is in it. so offer a very low price, IF they will accept it at all and most won't.

A copper chill block is a useful thing for sure.

Copper is not easy to melt at all, successfully casting something as simple as an ingot is a challenge.